The ‘Carreras Populares de Diputación’ (Popular Races of the Provincial Council) will be held for the first time in Olula on May 7th.

The Popular Races of the Provincial Council will be held for the first time in Olula on May 7th
The Sports Deputy presented the most consolidated Circuit of the Provincial Institution’s sports programme.

The Provincial Council of Almeria has celebrated the launch of one of the most important Circuits in the province: Carreras Populares 2022. This edition, which is growing once again, will include races in 17 municipalities which will once again be filled with sport, enthusiasm and love for running.

The Patio de Luces of the Provincial Palace has hosted the presentation of this circuit by the Deputy of Sports, José Antonio García, who has been accompanied by the mayors and councillors of the host municipalities, as well as the representatives of the Andalusian Athletics Federation and the sponsoring companies: De Murga Podología, Fisioterapia Empo, Frionature.

The circuit will start its route through the province on the 7th of May in Olula del Río and will continue through Bédar, Antas, Sorbas, María, Cuevas del Almanzora, Turre, Garrucha, Balanegra, Abla, Tïjola, Vera, Rioja, Gádor, Macael, Laujar de Andarax and Pulpí, where the programme will finish on the 29th of October.

The Sports Councillor, José Antonio García, has highlighted the importance of an initiative which places the province as a reference point for outdoor sports: “The ‘Carreras Populares’ show the commitment of the Provincial Council to sport and to facilitate, in all the regions, the access to a top level sporting event by equalising opportunities”, he has assured, while he has also highlighted that with this Circuit “wealth and employment are created and the objective of the Provincial Council to fix the population in all the municipalities of the province is fulfilled”.

He also highlighted the fact that, year after year, the number of venues and participants continues to grow: “For the first time in the history of this circuit there will be 17 venues covering all the regions of the province of Almería. The municipalities want to have competitions that are a boost for sports tourism,” he added.

The competition, as its name suggests, is characterised by its accessibility, for being attractive for the most experienced runners, as well as for newcomers, as well as having a clear component of social cohesion and as a dynamising factor for the municipalities that host the races. All the races will be held on Saturday afternoon or Sunday morning and will have a distance of between 6 and 10km. In addition, the races will take place under an exhaustive Covid-19 protocol adapted to the health situation at any given time to guarantee safety.


The runners, during their stay at the starting point, will wear a mask, being obligatory at the moment of the start and once they cross the finish line after 500m, they will be able to take it off, the starting points will be large, the enclosures will be closed to the public, hydroalcoholic gel dispensers will be available, are some of the measures included in this protocol.

07/05/2022 OLULA DEL RÍO
21/05/2022 BÉDAR
04/06/2022 ANTAS
11/06/2022 SORBAS
18/06/2022 MARÍA
16/07/2022 TURRE
06/08/2022 GARRUCHA
20/08/2022 BALANEGRA
27/08/2022 ABLA
03/09/2022 TÍJOLA
10/09/2022 VERA
17/09/2022 RIOJA
24/09/2022 GÁDOR
01/10/2022 MACAEL
29/10/2022 PULPÍ

Registration can be done through and, as well as on the websites

For the entire circuit, a single registration can be made to allow the athlete to participate in all the races. In the first race, a package will be given which includes: five race bibs, a badge for the cloakroom, a Circuit mask, a T-shirt and a reusable and compulsory chip.

Online registration for the whole Circuit:

35€ (federated athlete) + 5€ chip deposit.

50€ (non-federated athlete) + 5€ chip deposit

Children: €10 + €5 chip deposit)

Online registration for a single individual race:

10 € (federated and NON federated athlete)

2 € (Juniors)

Competitive Categories
Male and Female

Children A(2018 -2021)
Peques B (2015 -2017)
U10 (2013 -2014)
U12 (2011 -2012)
U14 (2009 -2010)
U16 (2007 -2008)
U20 (2003 -2006)
Senior (2002 -1988)
Master A (1987 -1983)
Master B (1982 -1978)
Master C (1977 -1973)
Master D(1972 -1968)
Master E(1967 -1963)
Master F (1962-1958)
Master G (1957 and earlier)
Absolute (three best finishers per race)

Resize text-+=

By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. /Si continúas usando este sitio, aceptas el uso de cookies. Más información

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best possible browsing experience. By continuing to use this website without changing your cookie settings or by clicking "Accept", you consent to this. Los ajustes de cookies en esta web están configurados para «permitir las cookies» y ofrecerte la mejor experiencia de navegación posible. Si sigues usando esta web sin cambiar tus ajustes de cookies o haces clic en «Aceptar», estarás dando tu consentimiento a esto.